8th Alanica Symposium

“Discontinuous Values”

Vladikavkaz, North Ossetia-Alania, Russia.

This year’s symposium is guest curated by Sara Raza, an independent curator and editor for ArtAsiaPacific (West and Central Asia) and current associate curator of Maraya Art Centre, Sharjah, UAE. The symposium will enable 20 guest artists from the North and South Caucasus, Russia and internationally, to create a new work that will be presented at the end of the project and will form part of the permanent collection of the NCCA. The symposium is additionally supported by the non-profit fund “Art Caucasus” with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.

‘Discontinuous Values’ is curatorially centred upon an investigation into artistic activities that explore fragmentation, lapses, loops and a severing of metaphorical and physical ties. It aims to take and subvert these ideas and place them within value systems inherited through discontinuity as a means of exploring the unique post-Soviet geography and specific topography of the North Caucasian region, which is steeped in diverse histories and Soviet Modernism, conflict and mythologies.

“Geographically, the region’s positioning at the intersection between Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia has resulted in the cross circulation of ideologies and fluid movement of peoples and cultures,” says curator Sara Raza. “Participating artists will engage with this historical and regional backdrop as well as contribute to an emerging grassroots art scene.”

‘Discontinuous Values’ operates on the basis of a flexible residency, enabling invited artists to make a new work that will develop daily and be presented at the end of the project at the National Library in Vladikavkaz. Furthermore, rather than presenting pre-conceived projects, that already exist, artists will create works in-situ in North Ossetia and surrounding vicinities as part of an expanded studio practice.

Featured artists include: Yesim Agaoglu, Ludmila Baisaeva, Younes Baba Ali, Faycal Bagriche, Konstantin Bessmertnyi, Matthew Corbin Bishop, Lado Darkhvekidze, Ala Ebtekar, Aslan Gaisumov, Mustafa Hulusi,Murad Khalilov, Anastasia Khoroshilova, Kapwani Kiwanga, Noa Lidor, Maria Marshall, Magdi Mostafa, Timur Musaev-Gagan, Karen Sargasyn, UBIK and Laura White.